The (Balloon) Vendor

DSC09395lowres

This Picture was taken during Ganesh Chaturthi, 2014 at Girgaum Chowpatty, Mumbai. This woman, who knew that a significant number of people would turn up, hoped to make some sales and earn a livelihood.

For anyone who knows the significance of being there at that place during Ganesh Chaturthi, would know what I mean when I say that the moment I stepped out of the station to go to the beach, I wanted to turn back. But curiosity led me there; I wanted to experience it for myself. Being an amateur photographer, I thought this would be a perfect time for some candid photography. The timing was, both, wrong and right; wrong because it was overwhelmingly crowded and after a certain point all I wanted to do was go home and right because I managed to get this shot.

It was a onetime thing. I don’t think I will do this again!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

